STABILO GREENline

text

STABILO is the expert for advertising messages with a green conscience – sustainable products made of FSC wood, biodegradable plastic and renewable plastics.

There is a large selection of green products with sustainable promotional options in every category. The STABILO GREEN BOSS highlighter and the STABILO GREENstyle and STABILO pointball push-button ballpoint pens are all made of recycled material, the STABILO GREENfancy push-button ballpoint pen’s casing is made of biodegradable plastic, and the STABILO GREENcolors pencils and many other graphite and colored pencils are made of FSC wood. STABILO produced the first pen to consist of 87% recycled plastic: the STABILO GREENpoint fibre-tip pen was consequently awarded a Cradle to Cradle silver certificate. Its extensive portfolio of green products makes STABILO an expert in sustainable promotional pens.

OUR POLICY

Taking responsibility

STABILO is committed to responsible activities in all the company’s divisions. In our international production plants, we strive to ensure that we handle natural resources extremely conscientiously, save energy and increase recycling rate.

Focused on sustainability

Our plant in Weissenburg, Germany powered 100% by green electricity. Also the new STABILO CUBE Headquarter in Heroldsberg, Deutschland focus on sustainability: the data centre is cooled using fresh air and geothermal energy, and the waste heat is used to heat the administration building.

Social Charta

As long ago as 2005, in the tradition of social responsibility, the Schwan-STABILO Group signed a social charter, a global framework agreement between the company and the trade union, with the aim of promoting humane working conditions.

OUR GREEN PRODUCTS

FROM CRADLE TO CRADLE – ADVERTISING WITH PENS MADE FROM RECYCLABLE MATERIALS

From cradle to cradle – Thanks to intensive research and development work, we are able to produce pens consisting of recycled plastics

Pens made of recycling material

 

STABILO became the first writing instrument producer in the world to receive an FSC® certification

Wooden pencils in the STABILO GREENline are manufactured in accordance with the high requirements of the FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council)

Pencils made of FSC® wood

DELIVER GREEN MESSAGES CREDIBLY USING BIODEGRADABLE PLASTICS

STABILO ballpoint pens with casing primarily made of biodegradable plastic, which is composed of renewable, cellulose-based raw materials.

Bio-plastic ballpoint pens

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

WHAT DOES BIODEGRADABLE MEAN?

The cradle-to-cradle concept is based on zero waste and describes a form of cyclical resource usage in which the modes of production are orientated towards the preservation of added value. Analogously to the food cycle in nature, in which waste products from one organism are used by another, material flows in production systems are planned in such a way that waste and inefficient use of energy are avoided.

HOW ARE CRADLE-TO-CRADLE PRODUCTS CERTIFIED?

EPEA (Environmental Protection Encouragement Agency) is an international research and consulting institute that optimises the quality and usefulness of materials, products and services through eco-effective design. In the cradle-to-cradle certification process, the certificate is awarded to products that use environmentally safe, healthy and recyclable materials..

WHAT IS THE FSC®?

The FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council) is a non-governmental, non-profit organisation dedicated to promoting responsible forest management. Its aims include the preservation of valuable virgin forests, the protection of the indigenous people living in them and, above all, the long-term, ecologically acceptable use of wood as a natural raw material.

WHAT DOES THE FSC® DO?

The FSC® standards define the minimum ecological and social standards that have to be complied with in forest management. Inspections are conducted in the processing chain to guarantee that certified wood or paper is clearly declared and actually reaches the consumer.

WHAT ARE THE FSC® STANDARDS?

The FSC® guidelines for forestry management include the protection of the rights of the people living in the forests and the preservation of biodiversity. Furthermore, in Germany, for example, they forbid clear-felling and the use of pesticides. They also guarantee that FSC®-certified wood is not inadmissibly mixed with other wood during further processing. This control chain extends from forest management all the way to the product on the shop counter.

HOW DOES THE FSC® CHECK STANDARDS ARE BEING UPHELD?

The FSC® certificate is awarded for companies at all stages of production. It is only awarded after the company has passed an initial inspection by an independent certifier. Compliance with the standards is checked annually.

WHAT DOES BIODEGRADABLE MEAN?

The housing of the STABILO GREENfancy ballpoint pen is made of renewable plastics. The base material for this plastic is cellulose from European softwood trees, i.e. no foodstuffs such as maize are used. The material from which the pen is made is biodegradable and nevertheless heat-resistant, which is genuinely unique in the bioplastics field.

HOW DOES THE DEGRADATION PROCESS WORK?

The degradation process depends on various parameters, such as temperature or the number and type of bacterial cultures in the soil or other environment. Industrial composting facilities in the waste management sector work at 70° C and contain six bacterial cultures. In these conditions, the degradation process takes several months – a more precise figure cannot be given. As a rule, such temperatures cannot be reached in privately used composting systems, e.g. for garden waste.

IS COMPOSTING BIOPLASTICS HARMFUL TO THE ENVIRONMENT?

No. The pigments used in GREENfancy products are also compostable, i.e. these pigments neither disturb nor damage the bacterial cultures in the composting systems used in the waste management sector.

ARE STABILO COLORS ENVIRONMENTALLY COMPATIBLE?

Yes, of course. STABILO uses only environmentally compatible colors and most certainly no toxic substances in the colorant production processes. In 80% of cases, water is used as a solvent and is then cleaned and reused in closed loops, thus ensuring that scarcely a drop of precious drinking water is wasted. Apart from a few special pens, all the pens and colorants are made of materials that can be disposed of unproblematically in normal household waste.

DOES STABILO USE BENZENE OR FORMALDEHYDE?

No. Critical substances, such as formaldehyde, benzene or trichloroethane, are not used to manufacture STABILO products.

WHAT MAKES STABILO WOOD-CASED PENCILS ENVIRONMENTFRIENDLY WRITING INSTRUMENTS?

The pens and pencils in the STABILO GREENline are manufactured in accordance with the high requirements of the FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council) using wood from responsibly managed forests which bears the FSC® seal. Many people may find this surprising, but the lead in a STABILO pencil doesn’t contain any lead at all. The lead consists of graphite and clay.

HOW DOES STABILO AVOID WASTE IN THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS?

STABILO separates waste into plastic, metal and colorant components. These components are recycled for the production of new writing instruments. Only a small proportion is disposed of as waste. The colorant containers do not finish up as hazardous waste, but are reused by partners. Residue from the ink production process is recycled and returned to the production process.

WHAT HAPPENS TO STABILO PRODUCTS WHEN THEY RUN OUT OF INK?

A STABILO pen is a quality product with a very long life. In addition, many of our pens can be refilled. When a STABILO pen does reach the end of its useful life, however, this is no problem: the pen’s components are made of environmentally neutral materials, such as polypropylene (PP), and are completely recyclable.

WHAT IS STABILO DOING TO COUNTER RISING MOUNTAINS OF PACKAGING WASTE?

STABILO limits transport packaging to the absolute minimum amount necessary. All packaging consists mainly of recycled or recyclable materials, such as cardboard or tin plate. STABILO produces the plastic holders largely without the use of PVC, using mainly polypropylene (PP) instead. This can be incinerated or recycled along with other household waste without any problems, leaving no toxic residue, and is groundwater-neutral in landfills.

STABILO GREENline

text

STABILO ist der Experte für Werbebotschaften mit grünem Gewissen – Nachhaltige Produkte aus FSC-Holz, Bio-Kunststoff und recyceltem Kunststoff.

Die Auswahl der grünen Produkte ist groß und bietet in jeder Kategorie nachhaltige Werbemöglichkeiten. Der Leuchtmarkierer STABILO GREEN BOSS und die Druckkugelschreiber STABILO GREENstyle und STABILO pointball werden aus Recycling-Material hergestellt, das Gehäuse des Druckkugelschreibers STABILO GREENfancy besteht aus biologisch abbaubarem Kunststoff und die Farbstifte STABILO GREENcolors sowie viele weitere Grafit- und Farbstifte sind aus FSC-Holz gefertigt. Mit dem Faserschreiber STABILO GREENpoint gelang STABILO außerdem der erste Stift, der zu 87% aus recyceltem Kunststoff besteht und mit dem Cradle-to-Cradle Silver Zertifikat ausgezeichnet wurde. Mit dem umfangreichen Portfolio an grünen Produkten ist STABILO Experte für nachhaltige Werbestifte.

 

UNSERE GRUNDSÄTZE

 

Verantwortung übernehmen

STABILO engagiert sich in allen Bereichen des Unternehmens für verantwortungsvolles Handeln. In unseren internationalen Produktionsstätten achten wir darauf, äußerst gewissenhaft mit natürlichen Ressourcen umzugehen, Energie einzusparen oder die Recycling-Quote zu erhöhen.

 

Nachhaltigkeit im Fokus

Unser Werk in Weißenburg, Deutschland wird zu 100 % mit grünem Strom betrieben. Auch im neuen Gebäude CUBE am Headquarter in Heroldsberg, Deutschland steht Nachhaltigkeit im Fokus: Das Rechenzentrum wird mit Frischluft und Geothermie gekühlt, die Abwärme im Gegenzug für das Verwaltungs gebäude genutzt.

 

Sozial-Charta

2005 unterzeichnete STABILO eine Sozial-Charta, eine weltweite Rahmenvereinbarung zwischen Unternehmen, Mitarbeitern und Lieferanten zur Förderung humaner Arbeitsbedingungen.

 

Zu den grünen Produkten

Von der Wiege zur Wiege – Werben mit Stiften aus Recycling-Materialien

Von der Wiege zur Wiege – Wir haben viel Aufwand in die Entwicklung von Stiften gesteckt, die zum Großteil aus recyceltem Kunststoff hergestellt werden.

Stifte aus Recycling Material

STABILO als weltweit erster Schreib­geräte­hersteller FSC-zertrifiziert

Die Holzstifte der STABILO GREENline werden nach den hohen Anforderungen des Forest Stewardship Council (FSC®) gefertigt.

Stifte aus FSC Holz

Grüne Botschaften übermitteln mit Stiften aus Bio Kunststoff

STABILO Stifte aus biologisch abbaubarem Kunststoff, der aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen auf Cellulose- Basis besteht.

Stifte aus Bio Kunststoff

HÄUFIGE FRAGEN (FAQ)

Was bedeutet Cradle to Cradle?

Das Cradle to Cradle Konzept kennt keinen Abfall und beschreibt eine Form zyklischer Ressourcennutzung, in der Produktionsweisen am Erhalt geschöpfter Werte ausgerichtet sind. Analog dem Nährstoffzyklus der Natur, in dem Abfälle eines Organismus von einem anderen genutzt werden, werden in der Produktion Materialströme so geplant, dass Abfälle sowie eine ineffiziente Nutzung von Energie vermieden werden.

Wie werden Cradle to Cradle Produkte zertifiziert?

EPEA (Environmental Protection Encouragement Agency) ist ein internationales Forschungs- und Beratungsinstitut, das durch öko-effektives Design die Qualität und den Nutzwert von Materialien, Produkten und Dienstleistungen optimiert. Im Rahmen des Cradle to Cradle Zertifizierungsprozesses werden Produkte ausgezeichnet, welche umweltsichere, gesunde und kreislauffähige Materialien verwenden.

Wer ist der FSC?

Der FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council) ist eine nichtstaatliche, gemeinnützige Organisation, die sich für die Sicherung der verantwortlichen Waldbewirtschaftung einsetzt. Ziele sind unter anderem die Erhaltung wertvoller, ursprünglicher Wälder, der Schutz dort lebender Naturvölker und vor allem die langfristige, ökologisch vertretbare Nutzung des natürlichen Rohstoffes Holz.

Was tut der FSC?

Durch FSC®-Standards wird festgelegt, welche ökologischen und sozialen Minimumstandards bei der Bewirtschaftung von Wald eingehalten werden müssen. In der Verarbeitungskette wird kontrolliert und garantiert, dass zertifiziertes Holz oder Papier eindeutig deklariert wird und beim Verbraucher tatsächlich ankommt.

Was sind die Standards des FSC?

In der Waldwirtschaft betreffen die FSC®-Richtlinien u. a. die Wahrung der Rechte der in den Wäldern lebenden Menschen sowie den Erhalt der Artenvielfalt. Weiterhin verbieten sie in Deutschland beispielsweise Kahlschläge und den Einsatz von Pestiziden. In der Weiterverarbeitung ist sichergestellt, dass FSC®-zertifiziertes Holz nicht unzulässig vermischt wird. Diese Kontrollkette zieht sich durch von der Forstwirtschaft bis zum Produkt auf der Ladentheke.

Wie kontrolliert der FSC?

Das FSC®-Zertifikat gibt es für Betriebe aller Produktionsstufen. Es wird nur nach erfolgreicher Erstbegutachtung durch unabhängige Zertifizierer verliehen. Die Einhaltung der Standards wird jährlich überprüft.

Was bedeutet biologisch abbaubar?

Das Gehäuse des Kugelschreibers STABILO GREENfancy wird aus nachwachsendem Kunststoff gefertigt. Basis hierfür ist Cellulose aus europäischen Weichhölzern, d.h. es wird nicht auf Nahrungsmittel wie Mais zurückgegriffen. Das Material, aus dem der Stift hergestellt wird, ist biologisch abbaubar und dennoch hitzebeständig, was im Bereich Bio-Kunststoffe eine echte Besonderheit ist.

Wie geht der Zerfallprozess von statten?

Der Zerfallsprozess ist von verschiedenen Parametern, wie Temperatur oder Anzahl und Art der Bakterienkulturen im Boden bzw. in der Umgebung abhängig. Professionelle Kompostanlagen der Abfallwirtschaft arbeiten mit 70 Grad Celsius und beinhalten sechs Bakterienkulturen. Unter diesen Bedingungen dauert der Zerfallsprozess mehrere Monate, ein genauerer Zeitraum kann nicht benannt werden. In privat verwendeten Komposten, z.B. für Gartenabfälle wird diese Temperatur in der Regel nicht erreicht.

Ist die Kompostierung von Biokunststoff schädlich für die Umwelt?

Nein. Die im GREENfancy verwendeten Pigmente sind ebenfalls kompostierbar, d.h. diese Pigmente stören oder schädigen nicht die Bakterienkulturen in den Kompostanlagen der Abfallwirtschaft.

Sind Stabilo Farben umweltverträglich?

Ja, selbstverständlich. STABILO nutzt für die Herstellung der Farben nur umweltverträgliche Lösungsmittel und garantiert keine giftigen Stoffe. Zu 80% wird als Lösungsmittel Wasser verwendet, das in geschlossenen Kreisläufen gereinigt und wiederverwendet wird. Somit wird kaum ein Tropfen wertvolles Trinkwasser verschwendet. Bis auf wenige Spezial-Stifte bestehen alle Stifte und Stiftfarben aus Materialien, die problemlos im normalen Hausmüll entsorgt werden können.

Verwendet Stabilo Benzol oder Formaldehyd?

Nein. Bedenkliche Inhaltsstoffe kommen für STABILO Produkte nicht zum Einsatz.

Warum sind holzgefasste Blei- und Buntstifte von Stabilo umweltfreundliche Schreibgeräte?

Die Stifte der STABILO GREEN Linie sind nach den hohen Anforderungen des FSC® aus dem Holz verantwortlich bewirtschafteter Wälder gefertigt und mit dem FSC®-Siegel ausgezeichnet.

Es mag viele überraschen, aber ein STABILO Bleistift enthält gar kein Blei. Die Mine besteht vielmehr aus Graphit und Ton.

Wie vermeidet Stabilo Müll bei der Herstellung?

STABILO trennt Müll in die Bestandteile Kunststoffe, Metalle und Farbstoffe. Diese recyceln wir für die Produktion neuer Stifte. Nur ein ganz geringer Teil wird als Restmüll entsorgt. Die Farbstoffcontainer landen nicht im Sondermüll, sondern werden von Partnern zweitverwertet. Die bei der Farbproduktion anfallenden Rückstände recyceln wir und führen sie erneut der Produktion zu.

Was macht man mit Stabilo Produkten, wenn sie leergeschrieben sind?

Ein STABILO Stift ist ein Qualitätsprodukt mit sehr langer Lebensdauer. Viele Stifte bieten darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit des Nachfüllens. Hat ein STABILO Stift dennoch irgendwann ausgedient, so stellt dies kein Problem dar: die Stift-Komponenten bestehen aus umweltneutralen Materialien wie Polypropylen und sind vollständig recycelbar.

Was unternimmt Stabilo gegen wachsende Verpackungsmüllberge?

STABILO beschränkt Transportverpackungen auf das absolut notwendige Maß. Alle Verpackungen bestehen zum größten Teil aus recyceltem bzw. recycelfähigem Material wie z.B. Pappe oder Weißblech. STABILO verzichtet bei der Herstellung von Kunststoff-Etuis weitgehend auf PVC und verwendet stattdessen vor allem Polypropylen. Dies ist im Hausmüll problemlos ohne giftige Rückstände verbrenn- bzw. recycelbar und verhält sich auf Mülldeponien grundwasserneutral.